The Department of Physics, established by late professor Raja Raja Verma in 1985 at Nazarathpet, caters to the basic foundation course, Engineering Physics, a base line for all Engineering stream. The Department has well-established laboratories to accommodate sixty students at a time. The Department has well qualified and dedicated Faculty members with specialization in various disciplines of Physics. It has been recognized as a Research centre by Anna University, Chennai, for conducting Ph.D. Programmes.